Dharma Mom

Sutras for Study

  1. The Mahaparinibbana Sutta – an account of the Buddha’s final days.
  2. The Sammaditthi Sutta – a discourse on Right View.
  3. The Satipatthana Sutta – a discourse on the Four Foundations of Mindfulness.
  4. The Anatta-lakkhana Sutta – a discourse on the doctrine of non-self.
  5. The Metta Sutta – a discourse on loving-kindness.
  6. The Karaniya Metta Sutta – a discourse on loving-kindness and compassion.
  7. The Mangala Sutta – a discourse on auspicious blessings.
  8. The Sigalovada Sutta – a discourse on the layman’s code of discipline.
  9. The Kalama Sutta – a discourse on how to determine the truth.
  10. The Udana – a collection of short, pithy sayings of the Buddha.
  11. The Itivuttaka – a collection of sayings of the Buddha.
  12. The Khuddaka Nikaya – a collection of shorter texts.
  13. The Jataka Tales – stories of the Buddha‘s previous lives.
  14. The Buddhavamsa – a chronicle of the Buddha’s life and previous lives.
  15. The Mahavamsa – a chronicle of Sri Lankan history and Buddhism.

Proudly powered by WordPress